Home straight now

Home straight now

So we are now able to look at this marathon in real time ( I sound like the Keifer Sutherland voiceover in 24). 2 weeks from now it’ll be all done and dusted and I’ll be resting up wondering what’s next on the hit list. I’ve planned a relatively quiet November running wise. Recover from DCM and I’ve Run in the Dark 10k mid November and nothing booked until the EAMS back2back Half Marathons to round the year off in amongst the best running friends.
So a higglity pigglity week for me as I had to play with the schedule to fit other plans and the fact I kick started the week with a migraine from hell.

Day 1: Return to Monday Groups with The Running Coaches

I had spent all day in bed with a migraine that decided to take hold in the middle of the night. Having reached out for the hard core solution to making the pain go away I was left with a massive migraine hangover where my whole body was drained. However it was week 1 of groups again and I was looking forward to getting stuck back into the sessions this time with a few friends joining to regain their running legs.

Had an absolute blast of a session and definitely by far my favourite first session ever. I followed it up with an easy 5k with Caitriona round Newcastle and rounded off the night with the cool down with the then ruined progressives after a tough interval session. 

One thing that I did notice about Monday night was the increase in traffic using the promenade. Which is expected at this time of year as the nights draw in, it’s the safest place to run locally. Yet I was more taken by the blatant rudeness and ignorance of some runners pushing past not only me but other out walking and running. This isn’t running ettiqute and for once I found the traffic on the streets surrounding Newcastle more couteous. I hope this was a once of as I’d hate that runners would get a bad name all because of a handful of ill mannered people. Remember people a little bit of manners goes  a long way.

Day 2: Tempo Day wasn’t meant to be

Yeah really shouldn’t have run the night before with a body hanging together.  As by mile 2 I knew a tempo run wasn’t going to happen so was planning to do just the 6 mile. Yeah that wasn’t going to happen either. I got to just over 3.5 mile and ended up in the public toilets throwing my guts up. 

No sympathy was required, I’d brought it on myself so called it a day.

Day 3: Wednesday with the girls

I’d hoped to tackle a tempo run after a failed attempt the previous day. However I knew that just keeping pace with them would give me a strong and solid run. I needed it something shocking as I had had a few things playing on my mind all week and I needed to run it out. Seems like we were all on the same boat and it was a well enjoyed trot round Newcastle 

Day 4 : I rested as long run was brought forward a day to Friday so wanted my legs to be fresh enough for the occasion as it seemed I had company of the not understanding kind. The last long distance run Michael and I done together was my 20 miler for DCM16 when he stuck with me for 12 mile before cutting his run short. We barely spoke the whole time and he spent most of it running 20m in front of me. So I wasn’t sure how this was going to pan out.

Day 5 : Long Run Day

We set out just before 10 with 16 on our minds. I’ve always said that when you run those 2/3 minutes/mile faster than someone it is hard work to run the slower pace over longer miles. Which I was sure would take its toll on Michael at some point. 

It was again a quiet run. Strangely I was just focusing on keeping pace steady as I know I can easily get carried away when running with others. Also it was SO warm. 

The impending hurricane has brought with it unreasonable temperatures and the sweat was lashing off me. We even rerouted to include extra water stops. At 12 mile Michael called it a day on running with me and headed off into the distance at his own pace and was hoping to pit a few mile more in. As for me, I kept on at my slow and steady pace making good time on my half and final 3 mile. 

As I finished off the last 0.1 of the run and was walking back to the car I spotted Michael. A lot sooner than I had planned. After increasing the speed after running so long with me and that sucking all the energy out him he had made it to 15 mile and didn’t have much left. Managing to even grab himself a lift back to the car. 

Pace was where I want it to be and my leg is holding up well. Its definitely a problem in my hip but plenty of stretching is easing it so as long as I keep moving for the next 2 weeks. I’ll be ok.
Day 6 : Rested the legs as they were a bit delicate but promised myself I would run Sunday. I did take the kids up to parkrun to cheer everyone on. Though they had more fun digging the already ruined track up.

Day 7 : The kids has been granny napped and away off to mass so we took the opportunity to get at least an hour in roubd the lake.

Michael had learnt his lesson from Friday and after 300m ran on down the avenue. We had agreed to go opposite ways round the lake knowing I could match 3 laps by him with 2 of mine so this was a handy way to keep track of eachother.

In fairness everyone was lovely on the lake on Sunday, smiling and saying hello…except him! When I met him on the hill at the back of the lake he couldn’t even manage a hello and he was on the downhill and I was going up! 

By the time I was half mile from the end of the lake he had come back round and knew that his 3rd lap wasn’t going to happen. So at exactly 2.5mile for me I was happy to turn back on myself and run with him. I hit 5 mile on the hour and was happy with that.

So now the shit is getting really real. I’ve been strangely gathered over the whole maranoia thing. I know in myself that I have trained hard. I’ve trained well enough to get what I want but I haven’t left myself much room for error. 

We all know race day can go either way. I might surprise myself, I might also blow up like I did at Derry. Yet my main aim is always to arrive alive at the finish line with a smile. Blowing my time from last year out of the water… bonus! 

Cotton wool time lads.

Leave a Reply

