When you know the “beginners” are already faster than you.

Endurance.

 The only skill I have on my side. As the 3rd session of The Running Coaches does Newcastle came to a close.

Work on endurance first and then focus on speed and distance, Dermot says. Hmm I thought to myself, OK they may all be faster than me but I know I’d be the last one running if it was who the last one to give up was. 

Tonight the group was pushed to hit the 5k mark, they actually went beyond that mark. It’s so clear how strong the group is and they were more than capable than running the distance with the short breaks in between. Definite talent and hopefully faces that I’ll see in the future more often.

However when I looked down and looked at the time I actually felt really shit. OK I was buzzing for the group. It was a fantastic achievement for them and I was really proud of them all. Yet inside I got a wake up call. 3.2 mile in 40minutes. Running, walking and talking and I was able to get that time with the group messing about. But why so sad…well my Kilbroney Park Run was just over a minute faster than this and I did sort of try at that.

Like seriously.  It’s embarrassing. OK my time trial on similar terrain is 33 minutes and I should essentially be focused on that but although I can seemingly run forever I still should be better.

So although tonight was a magnificent achievement for the group it’s opened my eyes to my own running. I’m feeling a bit sad in myself yet hopefully that maybe this epiphany will be the start of me doing something about it.

So back to the plan and sticking by it. The runners in the group are sticking by their weekly plans and improving …only right that I do that too.

One thought on “When you know the “beginners” are already faster than you.

Leave a Reply

