Hello double figures and hello old faithful 

This week I turned 32…this was also the first week I pretty much stuck to my training plan. With age comes maturity and ability to stick to a plan…well for a few days anyway.

Saturday saw the plan dictate to me that I’d to break back into the double figures. I know I managed Castleward a few weeks back and pulled 17mile out of the legs that day, but it was strategy and suited my style of running. However 10 solid miles with no breaks was a different prospect. 

Of course there is only 1 place I would tackle such milage and well I was last there the week before Dublin marathon. So a return to the lake for multiple laps was long over due. Of course it was only right that my company for the run was to be Caitriona. 

Waking up on Saturday morning the ground was covered in a heavy frost. Every blade of grass was thick with bright white frost and you could feel the chill down your body as you contemplated why in God’s name where you even thinking about going out in that. 

The previous nights plan of capri trousers was soon replaced by fleece lined long tights. 

Soon it was 9am and we headed for the park. We were no more than a mile in and I had to ditch the jacket. The advantages of the park are many, access to toilet, good routes and water. But my favourite bit of the park is the rangers hut. My very own personal storage station. So dropped my jacket there and headed for a few laps of the lake.

Caitriona did question my seemingly mad reasoning to opt to take a layer off so early but I overheat quickly. However we were not even a lap in and she had to ditch a layer too. Of course the one thing the lake doesn’t have is somewhere to change enroute. So right in the middle of the path there was Caitriona stripping down to her bra to take off her base layer and put on her tshirt and jacket again.

Luckily there wasn’t many people about but as much as I wanted to take a photo to use a leverage, I’m a good person and rather write about it and let you all visualise it. 

As the miles clocked up slowly and steadily, what was a frosty and cold start had turned into a beautiful mild winters morning and as each mile passed more and more people were seen on the lake. 

I’ve missed the lake. The initial procrastination through the first KM as you start yet another lap. The inner joy as you reach the first hill as you’ve over come the urge to walk. Hitting the top of the lake and the view right down to the far side. And of course my favourite view on the home straight which was just majestic 

So the love affair has been rekindled just in time as I flirt with the start of the Derry Marathon training.  

So another week begins and although I’m sitting with ice packs on my legs right now. I know that there are many more miles to be done, many more views to enjoy and most of all many more hours shared with those who fancy a wee run out with me.

Leave a Reply

