The craic at the back 

The craic at the back 

Tonight saw the return of the Newcastle group with the addition of some new faces also to get stuck into week 2 of The Running Coaches, Coached to 5k sessions. 

I’d stuck to my own plan today and had done 4 mile on the hills, quick dip at the Burrendale and was in a cracker mood. Good days like this don’t happen often. I didn’t even give off during homework so running this evening was the only way to round a great day off.

An upbeat and a lot more relaxed group this week as week 1 nerves had passed and confidence that they would survive the session after last week.

Also it was an added bonus to be an unseasonably mild January evening, I really am convinced the weather is bi-polar, with the temperature flirting with double figures after last Fridays deep freeze. 

The sea was calm and a gentle breeze was welcomed. Hats where definitely not required but hi vis was still essential. We were also very glad to welcome Coach Hugh into the group to lead and support the group throughout the session. 

We’re very lucky to have Hugh at Murlough and delighted to see him spreading his knowledge, encouragement and expertise with those new to running. And as always there was Caitriona and myself to balance the boat with a female perspective on running. More on that later.

The group had tried hard throughout the week to make a go of some running in their own time. Some by themselves and some with support. It’s  not easy taking yourself out to train. I myself hate running in public places, probably why my 20 mile training run for Dublin was 8 laps of the lake! Not too much in the open like for example, running road or busy promenades.I could happily do all my training in the confines of the forest park. Less eyes to spot you and in turn talk about you. Paranoid much?

Session got off to a good start with an enjoyable warm up which always gets the heart racing and reminding me I really need to warm up more thoroughly in future a wee skip, hop and jump isn’t sufficient.
As we set off down the promenade in side by side formation, Dermot and Hugh kept everyone right with their form and Caitriona and I kept to the back to keep spirits high. Seemingly now classed as the ‘craic at the back’ catchy lol

The promenade was a lot busier tonight and many fellow MACavisits where out stretching the legs probably saving what they have for Wintervals tomorrow and 6x 800m, boke. 

Some fantastic points and lesson learned at the Slieve Donald Hotel where I was delighted to know we weren’t running the full lap as I’m still scarred from last week’s time trial. 

And we where soon returing to base. 

It was obvious that this week the breaks where getting shorter but it was also clear everyone was beginning to be that bit more comfortable with chatting and balancing the breathing alongside it.I must admit my first session with MAC I could barely say hello during it. I had trained for 6 months on my own, not talking to anyone and then to be expected to hold a conversation…catch yourself on. Needless to say, I have had lots of practice now and can do the running and talking really well.

A thorough cool down by Hugh and feeling well stretched out. The session came to an end with hope that the crew will dig that bit deeper this week and be ready to kick ass next week as  the running becomes longer and the walking shorter.

I’ll admit I’m pretty sure there are quite a few of the group who are well capable of kicking my ass already. Which is great, hopefully they get the bug and realise their potential. I see it.

I am really enjoying being ‘a presence’ at the sessions. I don’t think I’m much assistance however what the male coaches don’t understand is the many obstacles that woman face even in a cool down. There is only so much a sports bra can do to haul ya down. But giggles where had tonight as something as simple as getting your arm to go straight across the top of your chest becomes hard work when you have self grown obstacles in the way! 

And on that point…until next session.

One thought on “The craic at the back 

Leave a Reply

