What goes up must come down…eventually

What goes up must come down…eventually

I always wonder how I get myself into things. However on the realisation that Michael actually doesn’t train unless he has an event to work towards, Christmas 2016 seen him getting a one way ticket to his Ultra Running baptism of fire. 

The Last Man Standing Ultra run by local events company Atlas Running, consists of 4.2 mile on the hour, every hour for as many hours as it takes until there is only 1 person left. Sounds simple enough, right?

So cue the Recce day. 5 laps of the course, race conditions. And check out that elevation šŸ™ˆšŸ™ˆšŸ™ˆ

Yip up and down like a loop whilst doing loops. A bipolar course if i ever seen one.

Of course thinking I didn’t want to miss out/flirting with the idea that I might actually do it after my performance at DCM16. I took myself along with the long suffering husband and what is the crew from MAC. 
I had treated this week like I had done my prep for my 20miler, well I could have rested up a bit more as I’m sure my legs where screaming for mercy after being up the Granite Trail aka lunges with a view, twice this week. However when the weather is as mild as it has been, I can’t sit inside.

Granite Trail on Thursday

So Team MAC took to the start line with over 20 other’s including last year’s winner. I had various ideas of strategy on how best to tackle the miles ahead. Other than just getting my ass round it alive, I was sure there was a technique to it.

Team MAC with honoury members Fiona Kenna and Lucy the dog

As we set off I felt very overwhelmed. I was surrounded by the elite of running madness, sorry I mean royalty. Seasoned Ultra Runners, the members of the 100 mile club and me. I’m sure they must have looked at me and wondered was I lost. But I am the personification of slow and steady and that essentially is what we needed to be. In control of pace and our own abilities to make the time frame. 

The recce participants

I was very lucky to be yet again at the back of the pack as I was accompanied by race organiser Adrian. Who was the perfect gentleman and paced me round. Explaining the best strategy for the lap. To be at the road by 11 minutes, the Bridge by 22, the House by 30 and the Caravan Park for 40. And if you want to walk it takes 12minutes to get the start. 

Lap 1 sucking all the information out of Adrian

First lap was bang on 52minutes. But I was already feeling it, a sign that I was nowhere near ready for the few laps ahead. Lap 2 kicked off and Michael decided to pace me through it.
We don’t often run together and there is a valid reason why- he drives me mad. I appreciate whoever runs with me has to have something special about them, especially if they are slowing down to meet my pace. We survived the 2nd lap together and headed off on the 3rd lap. And this is where he started to drive me mad.

In fairness my legs where starting to feel it bad, I was wondering if a 4th lap was even possible never mind a 5th. He encouraged me in his own annoying way to get me through the first 2 mile which where the toughest by far. Reaching the tarmac after the house I actually began to open up and relax. However this was becoming a common theme every lap. 

He left me with a mile to go on the downhill and I knew I’d make the cut off to start another lap. Doing some quick maths I knew this would bring me in around 13 mile. I was happy enough with that but knew I hadnt done any long run training and this was my limit. 

Winterfell Castle… made infamous by Game of Thrones.

Coming in with minutes to spare I had a stern word with myself.  I’d 2 more hours to go until everyone was finished and my legs, although tight, had some life left. So I set off on lap 4 knowing I’d burn out and have to walk missing the cut off. I enforced a new plan to my Ultra Running strategy. I was going to enjoy the unseasonably mild January day and the beautiful surroundings, take out the camera and photograph the memories of the day with a dynamic cool down. And that I did! I came in just over the 4.10 mark as let’s face it, I stopped to talk to a lady and her son out walking their dog, I sang with the birds and towards the end had caught up with the girl in front who happens to be called Janet and we walked the last mile in together. 17 miles completed.
Now that’s what I call a perfect end to a run. Learning about others running stories and obstacles, their future plans and laughing. 

The first of the lap 5 runners arrived in at 36mins and everyone followed shortly afterwards.  

The MAC crew all done themselves proud making the 21 miles looks easy. The recce has recruited maybe 2 more runners from the club as they felt it is a challenge they want to embrace. 

Me on the other hand. Not this year…some year definitely. But for now I’m happy to head up the MAC support crew to ensure there are friendly faces and all hands on deck to get the biggest entry of Murlough runners to an Ultra, through as many laps as possible.  

Myself and Fiona Kenna post run

In true team fashion and of course to satisfy the post run munchies. We stopped by McDonalds and massacred all food put in front to us…you can’t beat it.

Leave a Reply

