Throwback to Craic 10k

Throwback to Craic 10k

​Working backward to fill in the blanks before the blog began.

Funny enough the blog became a thing because I was already writing about all the races and runs I was doing so made sense to have them on a blog.

So Craic 10k, 17th March 2016. Belfast bound for St Patricks Day with Michael and Lauren.

So I tentatively pulled on the trainers this morning with the knee niggles hanging over me like a dull cloud and enough ibruofen in me to ensure I felt no pain. Stupid fall up Slieve Bernagh in the snow. Grrrr.

I had made a pact with myself that if by 3k it was still sore…I’d drop out

It was cold…but we where greeted by a sea of green and some great beats as we approached City Hall. Where Michael got to tell his old PE teacher he isn’t a lazy so and so and realising he had 2 cousins running the race too.

After a short delay that felt like forever in the cold March morning sunshine we got going.

I wasn’t feeling the love by 2k but after being spotted by Jane and Gérard from B2R and getting a high five it reenergised me going up the Falls, nothing beats someone shouting your name. Note got a pb fastest km in the first km strangely. 

Another high five from Alex Maskey ex belfast major, then the dreaded tap of Caitriona on my shoulder at 4.5k. It was like Castlewellan 10k all over again.

Knowing she was on my heels I had to regroup with her very encourging. ..just push through the pain and worry about it after, I pulled away from her gradually and by 6k on the Grovenor Bridge I jooked behind me to see she was about a half km behind me and I was safe.

The last 5k came and went and seeing the finish line from 8k was soul destroying as well as all the fast people on their way back into town finished up! Show offs! 

As I swung around the Titanic building (casually) I spied the final corner and put the boot down. Side note in hindsight it was WAY too soon but had to keep going as you do.

The sausage sandwich that the thought of it, kept me going through the race was pitiful and I will be making me one tomorrow using Cookstown Sausages and not Denny. Dan the Avonmore man shared the love also with big hugs and some Protein milk.

I have finally completed a race with an average sub 7min km. Ok it was 6.59 min/km but still not the 7.02min/km I’d bagged at Carlingford and it says 6!! 

Not liking the chip times as they all started at the gun time and not as you crossed the line so we’re going with our garmin times as it was a good 40sec difference.

Leave a Reply

