Running on holiday

Let’s face it…I was going to pack my running gear and my garmin to go on holiday.

We had booked a week all inclusive in Menorca before Christmas so the fact that back then I didn’t even think I’d be running 10k never mind have a half marathon 3 weeks afterwards.

After what can only be described as the worst pain ever a few weeks back, I was feeling a lot better and ready to get running again.  A session at the gym with Shane before going on holiday focused on core and upper body so I was able to walk with a few sprint intervels as my only leg work.

I had great intentions of early morning sunrise 5ks and hoped for a possible long run but the reality was much different.

That’s not to say I didn’t get out.  We got a few hours of a break whilst the kids where in Kids club and Michael and I took off about 10.30 am to see how far we could go before turning back. The first mile was tough. I have never ran in the summer never mind the Spanish summer so I was struggling to find my breath. By 2 mile we had ran out of road and stood over a cliff edge.

image

Being a fan of trail running I didn’t mind that we had come completely off the beaten track but when we ran out of road we where forced to walk as volcanic debris surrounded us and neither of us wanted to risk injury.

We managed 4 mile that day and I was happy enough but it wasn’t fast and it wasn’t pretty.

Took me 2 days to get out again but I had reduced my water in take and everything felt wrong as we set off. By 1 mile my calves felt like concrete and we both knew it wasn’t going to happen. Instead we took to the hills and scaled the surrounding area. Finding the highest point and Michael rebuilding the mound of rocks to ensure his was definitely the highest.

image

So what have I learnt about running on holiday?

• It’s a whole new type of heat
• fueling is important prep
• take her slow and steady
• never trust that a road leads somewhere
• it does feel like a huge accomplishment to actually run on holiday

image

Leave a Reply

