Who’s bright idea was this?

 

PhotoGrid_1458294785905So this is what lies ahead.

127 runs

Totalling 627.2 miles

In 32 weeks

All finished off by a 26.2 mile trip by foot around Dublin, in 5 hours 14min according to the My Asics app based on current pace. (It’s a liar, I’m certain of it)

 

Who’s bright idea was this!?!?

I’ll be honest, by the time I will be lining up at Dublin, I will have been running less than a year. Me a runner…that is something I never imagined I’d ever call myself. It was only 4 years ago that I tipped the scales at over 21 stone. With still another 2 stone to shift, however I can still class myself as being in the best shape of my life as it’s not that hard to compare.

So Dublin Marathon was my husbands idea, it’s on his birthday which magically happens to also be our wedding anniversary. Let’s just say that means I get presents on his birthday too and he has no excuse to forget the occasion.

At first I thought…wonderful, a day in Dublin wondering around the shops while he runs. Then the reality that maybe I could do it hit me and that was it. I’ve told people now that this is the plan, so I have to do it.

What better way to spend your wedding anniversary than pacing the streets of our nations capital without him! Several hours of peace and quiet…couldn’t have planned it better myself. Just for the record he is faster than me and the all knowledgeable app says his time is in the early 4 hours!  I’ll pick him up in the pub when I’m finished.

26.2 mile is a long way…its 2 half marathons, 4 x10k plus a little bit and 8x5ks. It’s hardly a walk in the park. I am happily working away at my 10ks coming in at 1.09 at my last race on Paddys Day. I enjoy running. I’m not fast and I procrastinate the whole way around but there is nothing that beats that feeling of being invincible as I cross the finish line. I am sure completing a marathon is the most epic feeling ever and I’m already looking forward to the challenge.

So preconditioning training.

I know a basic marathon training plan is 16weeks however I am going to attempt to knuckle down and put some pre training in. I’m signed up for a host of races including the Belfast Marathon Team Relay so every little helps.

I’ve doubled the training time to 32 weeks and this week I’ve to rein it in and gently cover my distances.  Of course my main focus is getting around this marathon in one piece everything else is a bonus.1935083_10153978190300797_5527223168469318407_nThis is me, last week, 17th March 2016 doing the Craic 10k in Belfast at approx 8.5km coming over the new Lagan Bridge near the SSE Arena

I would love to say I’m excited…but trust me the fear is real.

#marathontraining #dublinmarathon #rockyroad2dublin #runner #runningdreams #craic10k #teamgrant #26.2 #preconditioning #training #instarunner #runmummyrun #thefearisreal #wordpress #blogger #siobhanstories

3 thoughts on “Who’s bright idea was this?

  1. Congrats on the commitment and already getting into some shorter races to get ready. It is one of the best feelings ever. I’ve only ever run one full marathon and it was amazing. It was certainly the hardest physical en devour I’ve ever done, but so worth it. I’ve never been to Dublin, but from the pictures I’ve seen, I can imagine it’s gotta be one of the most beautiful places to run. Have fun with it. Awesome job. I think I’m going to start referencing my weight using the Stone measurement instead of pounds. I like the smaller numbers. 😉 Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

